Is it common for modern flims to be difficult to understand? Sitä ja tätä

First of all, I must say that I'm not an expert in movies, but I do admire many of the world's most famous filmmakers for their ability to deliver an "unforgettable" story in a way that no one else can.
However, one thing I've noticed regarding film enjoyment is that it appears to be very common for new films to be difficult to understand nowadays...(For example, many of Nolan's movies) I wonder if anyone feels the same way I do? Let's share some thoughts.

*Sorry for the misspelling in the topic. The word "flims" should be "films".

Hello Yu

🎞️ Like you, I am not an expert in film making. However, I am a film buff... 🙂

" Christopher Nolan is undoubtedly one of THE film-makers of the new generation.
His films often deal with the inner turmoil of the protagonist ... which is of
course interesting but also very complex. I like the challenge he create for
his audience. He likes to leave room for our own interpretations ... I guess.

I love 'complexity' in filmes and watch some films several times to grasp the
nuances. In general, I like films that are not so easy to understand and that
I have to 'make-an-effort' for ... "

Yes, I agree with you. Many films are difficult to understand, especially Christopher Nolan's films. But maybe it's on purpose. If you have watched a movie and haven't completely understood it yet, but the story is interesting, you maybe watch it again and buy the DVD.

Such movies should be watched in private and carefully, in fact you should live in the position of the same character.

No, in almost any time (not counting the time before the 19th century) there were films that were difficult to understand, be it art house, or films for mass audiences, like the films of the same Christopher Nolan. And by the way, as for Nolan, he is a narcissist by nature, so he always puts himself above the audience, especially in intellectual terms